Return to American Dictionary of the English Language, Noah Webster 1828, original facsimile edition
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 October 12, 2019
Reviewer: Dawn Addison from Richmond, VA United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Fantastic March 4, 2019
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from baltimore, MD United States  
This is an excellent facsimile account of the 1828 Webster dictionary. Satisfied with the purchase and highly recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 I have benefitted for over three decades October 22, 2018
Reviewer: James Mullally from Altadena, CA United States  
I was just reminded, once again of the quality of resources out there for us here in America. I just bought another copy of Webster’s 1828 Dictionary of the American Language. I have all of the Big Books that they sell, and have bought numerous copies for my teaching, and also as gifts, but the Webster’s, at least this copy went to our new Pastor, on Pastor appreciation day, as he is in the midst of his doctoral thesis, and this facsimile copy offers much of what was our true past, with real definitions, and examples that built our Nation strong and true to God and our Constitution under God. It should be in every Christian home so we can get back to the civility Liberty demands. I bought a Third Edition in 1984,still the best. Love the Foundation of American Christian Education.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 1828 Dictionary October 5, 2018
Reviewer: John Kinzer from Cedar Crest, NM United States  
Tremendous resource in researching the meaning and etymology of words defined at the time of America's founding.  Noah Webster reveals the Biblical meaning of many words along with the usage of words by authors.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 July 9, 2018
Reviewer: Michael Buchanan from Brookville, OH United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Purchased 1828 Dictionary April 9, 2018
Reviewer: Gary R. Porter from Yorktown, VA United States  
Excellent service, as always.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 January 17, 2018
Reviewer: Vivian Larkin from Duluth, GA United States  
Exactly what I hoped for.  Thanks

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 This book should be on the shelf of every American November 2, 2017
Reviewer: Scott Lovett, Overseer of Real Church from Tulsa, OK United States  
All of our inalienable rights were established and given to us by the Creator.  Everything the Creator established is built upon the foundational principle of words.  Since words have the power to bring structure or chaos in the lives of mankind, knowing their true meaning is of utmost importance.  Noah Webster the founder of American education invested his life to define and give meaning to all the words of the founding era. As citizens of this great nation our investment should be to obtain, cherish, and study this precious resource. The Noah Webster 1828 Dictionary is a valuable tool of education that should be on the shelf of every American citizen today.

Was this review helpful to you?

  8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 A fund of wisdom, knowledge, and information September 18, 2009
Reviewer: tepi from United States  
This book is a facsimile of the 1828 two-volume dictionary in one volume. Noah Webster was a very learned and very devout man, and his ideas about language in his very long Introduction to this book make for interesting reading. The frontispiece gives us a marvelous portrait of Webster.
As for the actual entries, Christian readers will find it rewarding to compare his definitions of such words as "marriage", "education", "law", "prayer", etc., with those given in any modern dictionary. They will probably be surprised at the great differences, and may come away with a renewed respect for this great American.
It's a great pleasure to handle such a well-produced book, and to read its definitions and ponder the great changes that have occurred in the meanings of words over the last 130 years. This is a book that should be in everyone's library, as providing a fund of wisdom, knowledge, and information that few modern books can even begin to approach.

Was this review helpful to you?